2022 Cocodona 250 Mile Results: Gold for Joe McConaughy and Annie Hughes

Results from the 2022 Cocodona 250 Mile in Arizona, which was won by Joe McConaughy and Annie Hughes.

By on May 6, 2022 | Comments

The second annual Cocodona 250 Mile began at 10 a.m. U.S. Mountain Time on Monday, May 2, in Prescott, Arizona. Runners endured scenic but brutal terrain over the 254-mile course and climbed more than 30,000 feet to arrive in the northern city of Flagstaff.

This year’s course was heavily modified from its intended route due to wildfires. The official cutoff time for the race is 122 hours, and it ends on Saturday, May 7.

This year’s event, put on by Aravaipa Running, did not disappoint and saw some impressive times set by those earliest to the finish line.

Thru-hiker and ultrarunner Joe McConaughy and young phenom Annie Hughes clinched the men’s and women’s top spots on Wednesday night and Thursday morning, respectively. At the time of publication, runners continue to trickle across the finish line, totally worked but generally beaming.

2022 Cocodona 250 Mile Men’s Race

Joe McConaughy, aka Stringbean (his trail name in the thru-hiking community), ran the entirety of the race in absolutely stellar form and broke the tape in a diminutive 59:28:54. That signified a more than six-hour lead over the rest of the field.

Michael McKnight picked up the pace in the back half of the race to close that gap. At 65:39:16, McKnight crossed the threshold at Heritage Square, claiming second place in the men’s race.

United States Marine veteran Matt Smith gained steady momentum, moving from the middle of the pack to round out the men’s podium late in the race. He finished in 73:01:19.

Joe McConaughy - Stringbean - 2022 Cocodona 250 Mile champion 2

Joe McConaughy aka Stringbean on his way to winning the 2022 Cocodona 250 Mile. Photo courtesy of Joe McConaughy.

2022 Cocodona 250 Mile Men’s Results

  1. Joe McConaughy (Brooks) – 59:28:54
  2. Michael McKnight (Salomon) – 65:39:16
  3. Matt Smith – 73:01:19
  4. Kevin Goldberg– 74:24:58
  5. Jeff Garmire – 75:05:20

Full results.

2022 Cocodona 250 Mile Women’s Race

There’s just something about Leadville, Colorado, legend Annie Hughes. With just 71:10:22 down, the 24-year-old claimed first in the women’s race. She led the women all race, and did so with nearly no sleep — only a few catnaps along the way. This is Hughes’ second 200-plus-mile race in seven months, as she won the 2021 Moab 240 Mile last October.

Second in the women’s race belonged to Lauren Jones, whose steady pace throughout delivered her to the finish line at 78:34:16.

Some five hours later, Aravaipa’s own Sarah Ostaszewski landed the final podium spot, with an official time of 84:21:24. Notably, Ostaszewski finished fifth in last year’s Cocodona showdown and looked pleased to have bested her previous performance by two spots.

Annie Hughes crossing the line as 2022 Cocodona 250 Mile champion. Photo: Alex Potter

2022 Cocodona 250 Mile Women’s Results

  1. Annie Hughes (Hoka) – 71:10:22
  2. Lauren Jones – 78:34:16
  3. Sarah Ostaszewski (Aravaipa Running) – 84:21:24
  4. Rhoda Smoker – 89:06:50
  5. Stephanie Simpson – 89:46:29

Full results.

Jilli Cluff
Jilli Cluff writes and edits for iRunFar and other outdoor-driven outlets. Those closest to her might say she's an avid climber, middling longboarder, and slow (but optimistic!) trail runner. Jilli is based out of Austin, Texas, where she takes up residence with her one-eared blue heeler, George. Follow her on Instagram.