Ludo Pommeret and Courtney Dauwalter won the Hardrock 100! Our in-depth results article has the full race story.

UROY and Other Year-End Award Favorites

AJW’s nominees for various 2011 end-of-year awards for ultrarunners.

By on December 9, 2011 | Comments

AJWs TaproomWhen Bryon and I first dreamt up this column we thought it would be fun to provide a forum for ultramarathon running that was the equivalent of those three-hour pre-game shows we see on TV during football season. We thought it would be fun to give something to the folks out there who really like to geek out on ultrarunning and love to over analyze even the most miniscule details about running, others, and life. Kind of a Bob Costas, George Sheehan, Mike Wallace forum all rolled into one trail running bundle.

Thus, AJW’s Taproom was born!

I also would like to think that the columns here in the Taproom contain a reasonable amount of somewhat intelligent discourse to entertain even the casual reader and I hope that the topics we cover are at least as stimulating as a trip to the local pub.

Therefore, in that context, I endeavor to dream that the readers of this column might take hold of the topics contained herein and bring them along to their local brewpub (or out to the trails) with a few friends for further rumination and dissection. In the best of times, these ideas might inspire. In the worst of times, well, at least they are ideas. And, in the middle? Well, we’re all in the middle, so there.

With all of this as a backdrop I thought it would be a good time to look at the Year in Ultrarunning and simply, without judgement or analysis, throw out some nominees and see where the chips might fall. [Of course, I am making up the categories as I go along and none of this is the opinion of the staff at iRunFar. :-)]

Female Ultrarunner of the Year

  • Meghan Arbogast
  • Ellie Greenwood
  • Kami Semick
  • Joelle Vaught

Male Ultrarunner of the Year

  • Nick Clark
  • Dave Mackey
  • Mike Wardian
  • Mike Wolfe

Female Race of the Year

  • Meghan Arbogast – IAU 100K World Championships
  • Diana Finkel – Hardrock 100
  • Ellie Greenwood – Western States 100

Male Race of the Year

  • Dave Mackey – Miwok 100k
  • David Riddle – JFK 50 Mile
  • Geoff Roes – Chuckanut 50k
  • Ian Sharman – Rocky Raccoon 100
  • Michael Wardian – IAU 100k

Female Surprise of the Year

  • Rory Bosio
  • Regan Petrie

Male Surprise of the Year

  • Hal Koerner
  • Anton Krupicka

Female Rookie of the Year

  • Sandi Nypaver

Male Rookie of the Year

  • Tim Olson
Masters Runners of the Year
  • Meghan Arbogast
  • Dave Mackey
Comeback Runners of the Year
  • Nikki Kimball
  • Mike Morton
“Coaches Award” (Best Attitude)
  • Hal Koerner
  • Krissy Moehl
Most Improved Award
  • Dakota Jones
  • Joelle Vaught

Fathers of the Year (Added 12/12)

  • Nick Clark
  • Dave Mackey
  • Michael Wardian

Mothers of the Year (Added 12/12)

  • Darcy Africa
  • Meghan Arbogast
  • Betsy Nye

Until next week, bottoms up!


AJW Taproom’s Beer of the Week
Silverton Ice Pick AleAJW’s beer of the week comes from Silverton Brewery. Their Ice Pick Ale is simply extraordinary. Simple, harsh, complex, and unpredictable it is, indeed, like the mountains that surround the brewery. Not available outside of the immediate area, this is a beer that is worth the trip.

Call for Comments (from Bryon)
I trust all of you can figure out what to talk about regarding this taproom! Share your thoughts in one or more of the categories.

Andy Jones-Wilkins

Andy Jones-Wilkins is an educator by day and has been the author of AJW’s Taproom at iRunFar for over 11 years. A veteran of over 190 ultramarathons, including 38 100-mile races, Andy has run some of the most well-known ultras in the United States. Of particular note are his 10 finishes at the Western States 100, which included 7 times finishing in the top 10. Andy lives with his wife, Shelly, and Josey, the dog, and is the proud parent of three sons, Carson, Logan, and Tully.