2015 La Sportiva Mountain Cup Schedule

The 2015 La Sportiva Mountain Cup Schedule.

By on December 19, 2014 | Comments

2015 La Sportiva Mountain Cup logoThe La Sportiva Mountain Cup is back in 2015, and will take place for the seventh year running. The LSMC a 10-race series taking place on U.S. soil that focuses on shorter-distance trail running.

2015 La Sportiva Mountain Cup Schedule

2015 La Sportiva Mountain Cup Scoring and Award Structure

Check out the LSMC scoring page for details on how points are awarded. Note that there’s a basic point-award structure that’s enhanced with bonus points for the series-opener race, the series-closer race, and for beating a runner in any race who is ranked in the top 10 overall for their gender in the series. Here’s an excerpt from that page which further explains scoring for 2015:

The top 10 male and female racers for each event will be scored…

Mountain Cup scoring: 1st through 10th place scoring is as follows:
20 – 17 – 15 – 13 – 11 – 10 – 9 – 8 – 7 – 6

Series Opener Scoring: At the Hillbilly Half Marathon, 1st through 10th place scoring is as follows:
23 – 20 – 18 – 16 – 14 – 13 – 12 – 11 – 10 – 9

Championship Scoring: At the Jupiter Peak Steeplechase, 1st through 10th place scoring is as follows:
25 – 22 – 20 – 18 – 16 – 15 – 14 – 13 – 12 – 11

Bonus Points: Two (2) bonus points will be awarded to a competitor for every runner beaten in a race who was in the top 10 in the same gender in the overall standings.

Series Standings: Series participants can enter as many races as desired.  Only the top five (5) races will be scored for the overall standings. 

…Series participants must race in a minimum of three (3) events to be eligible for cash purse.
Each event will be scored only for overall Male and Female… At the end of the season, the top 5 overall Male and Female runners will receive prize money for their performance as long as the three (3) race minimum has been reached.

…Highest score wins!

There’s a $25,000 cash purse for the series, $12,500 for each gender, paying out to the top five of each gender as follows:

  • $5,000 for the series win
  • $3,500 for second place in the series
  • $2,000 for third place in the series
  • $1,500 for fourth in the series
  • $500 for fifth in the series

Call for Comments

  • Have you participated in the LSMC in the past? Or, have you run a race that was part of the cup? If so, what are your thoughts on the series?
  • Are you thinking of participating in the series this year?
Meghan Hicks

Meghan Hicks is the Editor-in-Chief of iRunFar. She’s been running since she was 13 years old, and writing and editing about the sport for around 15 years. She served as iRunFar’s Managing Editor from 2013 through mid-2023, when she stepped into the role of Editor-in-Chief. Aside from iRunFar, Meghan has worked in communications and education in several of America’s national parks, was a contributing editor for Trail Runner magazine, and served as a columnist at Marathon & Beyond. She’s the co-author of Where the Road Ends: A Guide to Trail Running with Bryon Powell. She won the 2013 Marathon des Sables, finished on the podium of the Hardrock 100 Mile in 2021, and has previously set fastest known times on the Nolan’s 14 mountain running route in 2016 and 2020. Based part-time in Moab, Utah and Silverton, Colorado, Meghan also enjoys reading, biking, backpacking, and watching sunsets.